Thursday, 20 March 2008

Sun photogs shine

Updated 03/21/08
Several photographers at the Edmonton and Calgary Suns have been nominated for 2007 News Photographers Association of Canada awards, but the Toronto and Ottawa Suns came up empty.

A CNW Group press release says the Edmonton Sun's Darryl Dyck, Jason Franson and Tim Smith are nominated separately for photos in the Feature/Enterprise category.

Dyck is also nominated in the Sports Action category and is a portfolio finalist for the 2007 Canadian Photojournalist of the Year award.

The Calgary Sun's Brett Gundlock has been nominated in the Multimedia category.

The closest nomination link to the Toronto Sun is Dave Chidley, who moved to the London Free Press only to be laid off. He's now with Canadian Press and nominated for the Spot News award.

Winners will be announced April 19 during NPAC's annual National Pictures of the Year gala in Vancouver.

Congrats to all.

And a big round of applause for NPAC for setting up a web site slide presentation for photographs nominated for awards. It is an excellent bonus for nominated photographers and for people interested in viewing the nominated photos.

No comments:

Post a Comment