Friday, 19 June 2009

George's award

Congrats to Dwayne De Rosario, the second recipient of the George Gross Memorial Trophy.

Any trophy carrying the name of the late, great Toronto Sun founding sports editor, carries a lot of weight.

The Toronto FC web site says De Rosario received the award after being named the Most Valuable Player of the 2009 Nutrilite Canadian Championship, helping Toronto FC win the 2009 Voyageurs Cup.

The first recipient was Impact's goalkeeper Matt Jordan who won the award in 2008.

Toronto FC devotes equal space to The Baron's own achievements as a Canadian sports legend.

George died in March of last year and the void left at the Sun and in sports circles is as large as ever.

No comments:

Post a comment