Monday, 4 May 2009

ONA blurbs

Updated 05/05/09 to include all winners
Ontario Newspaper Awards blurbs from 13 Sun Media newspapers following the weekend presentations in Kitchener-Waterloo.

The complete list of winners:

Sun Media newspapers (a very impressive showing by employees of a conglomerate that is discouraging participation in media awards and refusing to cover expenses for nominees to attend awards presentations):

Tara Hagan, Sarnia Observer: Larry Smith Award for novice reporting (under 25,000 circulation)

Mark Wanzel, Barrie Examiner
: Jack Bowman Award for spot news photography (under 25,000 circulation)

J.T. McVeigh, Barrie Examiner: London Free Press Award for sports photography (under 25,000 circulation)

Lara Bradley, Sudbury Star: Murray Thomson Award for environmental reporting

Denis St. Pierre, Sudbury Star
: Municipal affairs reporting (under 25,000 circulation)

Jonathan Sher, London Free Press: Rogers Communications Award for municipal affairs reporting (over 25,000 circulation)

Jane Sims
and Jennifer O'Brien, London Free Press
: London Free Press Award for news feature writing

London Free Press
: Award for online multimedia special project

Peter Conradi, Niagara Falls Review: Toronto Star Award for design and graphics (under 25,000 circulation)

Denis St. Pierre, Sudbury Star
: Winnifred Stokes Hill award for opinion and analysis (under 25,000 circulation)

Tony Caldwell, Ottawa Sun: Rogers Communications Award for sports photography

Errol McGihon, Ottawa Sun: Ford Award for spot news photography

Sarnia Observer: Ross Weichel Award for special projects (under 25,000 circulation)

Bill Henry, Owen Sound Sun Times: Award for online photography

Willy Waterton, Owen Sound Sun Times: London Free Press Award for feature photography (under 25,000 circulation)

Mike Whitehouse, Sudbury Star: Wayne MacDonald Award for narrative writing

Barrie Examiner: John E. Motz Award for layout and design (under 25,000 circulation)

Mike Whitehouse, Sudbury Star: Toronto Star Award for editorial writing(under 25,000 circulation)

Claude Scilley, Kingston Whig-Standard: K.J. Strachan Award for editorial writing

John Robbins, Niagara Falls Review: Award for beat reporting (under 25,000 circulation)

Dan McCaffery and Jack Poirier, Sarnia Observer: Norma Bidwell Award for family/lifestyle writing (under 25,000 circulation)

Maria Canton and Denis Langlois, Owen Sound Sun Times
: Canadian Press Award for spot news writing (under 25,000 circulation)

Tom Mills, Sault Star: Sandy Baird Award for humour writing

Julie Jocsak, St. Catharines Standard: Ford Award for feature photography

Cheryl Clock, St. Catharines Standard: Tony Fredo Memorial Award for family/lifestyle writing

Other newspapers:

Martha Blackburn Award for journalist of the year: Steve Buist, Hamilton Spectator

Richard Sutton Award for photojournalist of the year: Jason Kryk, Windsor Star

Hamilton Spectator Rob Austin Memorial Award for student journalist of the year: April Robinson, University of Western Ontario

C.B. Schmidt Award for novice reporting: Emma Reilly, Hamilton Spectator

Business writing: Doug Schmidt, Windsor Star

Hamilton Spectator Award for portrait photography: Gary Yokoyama, Hamilton Spectator

James Bruce Award for arts and entertainment writing: Rob O'Flanagan, Guelph Mercury

Edward J. Hayes Award for beat reporting (over 25,000 circulation): Steve Buist, Hamilton Spectator

Robert Hanley Award for sports writing (under 25,000 circulation): Rob O'Flanagan, Guelph Mercury

Joan May Award for column writing: Gord Henderson, Windsor Star

Gene Florcyk Award for sports writing: Bob Duff, Windsor Star

Bill McGrath Award for design and graphics: Tania Praeg and Andrew Bruce, Waterloo Region Record

Award for online video production: Mathew McCarthy, Waterloo Region Record

Carl Morgan award for special projects: Hamilton Spectator

Del Bell Award for feature writing: Steve Buist, Hamilton Spectator

Walter Blackburn Award for opinion and analysis: Steve Buist, Hamilton Spectator

Canadian Press Award for spot news writing: News team, Hamilton Spectator

Press Institute of Canada Award for enterprise reporting: Tamsin McMahon, Melinda Dalton, Waterloo Region Record

John E. Motz Award for layout and design (over 25,000 circulation): Waterloo Region Record

Congrats to all.


  1. I wonder how many winners stayed overnight on their own dime?

  2. It's not the fact that the company didn't pay for accommodations that bothers me. Times are tough. I can accept that. It's the pulling of Sun Media's sponsorship that was a slap in the face to the awards and journalism. ONA brass said this could be the last year for the awards, which, ironically, has more Sun Media papers as members than anyone else.