Sunday, 29 April 2007

Two Sun awards

Sun photographers in Ottawa and Edmonton have won awards in the News Photographers Association of Canada's first annual Pictures of the Year Awards.

Congrats to Blair Gable of the Ottawa Sun, first place winner in the General News photo category (the military funeral photo at left). Runners-up were Steve Russell at the Toronto Star and Ryan Remiorz at Canadian Press.

And to Darryl Dyck at the Edmonton Sun for his second place award for Sports Feature photo. First prize went to Ryan Remiorz at Canadian Press and third prize went to Darren Calabrese at the Guelph Mercury.

(If the Ottawa and Edmonton Sun photo editors e-mail us the photos taken by Blair and Darryl, we will post them here, or if they are online, please provide links to the photos.)

The 2006 award winners, announced Saturday night in Vancouver, were selected from more than 1,300 entries across Canada in 12 categories. There were no awards for the Toronto, Winnipeg or Calgary Suns.

A TSF reader has posted a comment to say Dan Riedlhuber, winner of two awards for his work at Reuters, was one of the Edmonton Sun staffers laid off in Sun Media cutbacks.

The 2006 winners, as listed by Canadian Press:

Photojournalist of the Year: Tyler Anderson, The National Post.

Photograph of the Year: Dan Riedlhuber, Reuters.

Spot News: 1st — Peter McCabe, The Canadian Press; 2nd — Jenna Hauck, Chilliwack Progress; 3rd — Jenelle Schneider, Calgary Herald.

Student Photographer of the Year: Daniel Hayduk, Loyalist College

General News
: 1st — Blair Gable, Ottawa Sun; 2nd — Steve Russell, Toronto Star; 3rd — Ryan Remiorz, The Canadian Press.

: 1st — Tara Walton, Toronto Star; 2nd — Ryan Jackson, freelance; 3rd — Tyler Anderson, National Post.

Sports Action: 1st — Dan Riedlhuber, Reuters; 2nd — Christopher Pike, Brandon Sun; 3rd — Emma Bennett, Medicine Hat News.

Sports Feature: 1st — Ryan Remiorz, The Canadian Press; 2nd — Darryl Dyck, Edmonton Sun; 3rd — Darren Calabrese, Guelph Mercury.

Portrait/Personality: 1st — Donald Weber, Atlas Press; 2nd — Ryan Carter, freelance; 3rd — Ashley Hutcheson, freelance.

Pictorial: 1st — Wendell Phillips, freelance; 2nd — Bernard Brault, La Presse; 3rd — John Lucas, Edmonton Journal.

Illustration/Fashion: 1st — Tobin Grimshaw, freelance; 2nd — Ryan Jackson, freelance; 3rd — Tobin Grimshaw, freelance.

Picture Story: 1st — Dustin Leader, Redline Photo Agency; 2nd — Donald Weber, Atlas Press Press; 3rd — Tory Zimmerman, freelance.

Congratulations to all.

1 comment:

  1. It may be interesting to note that Danny Riedlhuber, winner of a couple of photo awards, was an earlier layoff from the Edmonton Sun.
    Seems getting laid off from Sun Media is now a badge of honour, and a tip of the hat to one's abilities and competence.